Interreg VI news


Facts & Figures

about the

INTERREG programme

Facts & Figures

Here you will find information about the INTERREG-Programme. No rights may be derived from the information contained in this page.
For further questions or comments, please contact the Joint INTERREG Secretariat.


The European Union set up INTERREG in the 1990s under the structural funds in order to promote cross-border cooperation. Since then, the programme has led to closer cross-border cooperation across the European Union. It is one of the main instruments used to implement the EU’s cohesion policy – in particular its regional policy, which is geared towards reducing development disparities between European regions and improving economic cohesion. Between 2014 and 2020, the EU will invest almost 9 billion euros in cross-border cooperation across Europe. The INTERREG programme is funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).

The fifth INTERREG funding period began in 2014 and runs parallel to the EU budget cycle. That means that INTERREG projects can be carried out until 2020.

You will find more information about the European Union’s regional policy at

History of INTERREG Deutschland-Nederland

Since its introduction in 1991, INTERREG has been successful in the German-Dutch border region. In its initial phase (until 1993), the programme mainly served to create personal connections between people, organisations and companies on both sides of the border. It also helped localise and fill in gaps in the cross-border infrastructure. The four German-Dutch border regions (Eems Dollard Region, EUREGION, Euregion Rhine-Waal, euregion rhine-meuse-north) were divided into four separate programme areas. The second phase (INTERREG II, 1994-1999) was devoted to embedding the new partnerships more firmly in the regions and to improving the quality of the projects.

INTERREG III A (2000-2006) enhanced cooperation between research and educational institutions and the business community on both sides of the border, and also helped build networks. The four separate programmes were combined into two programme areas. For example, EUREGION, Euregion Rhine-Waal, and euregion rhine-meuse north participated in a joint programme. The Eems Dollard Region’s programme was carried out in the northern border area (see “Programme area”). This closer cooperation between border regions made large-scale, multi-area projects possible.

INTERREG IV A (2007-2013) has continued along the same lines. Previously separate programme areas have been joined into a single programme area extending from the Wadden Sea to the Lower Rhine. Much effort has gone into extending cross-border structures and networks and implementing key innovation projects.

The new INTERREG V programme will proceed in the same manner. The simplified structure and focus on two priorities will boost innovation in the programme area and help eliminate the barrier posed by the Dutch-German border. One of the underlying aims is to achieve concrete, measurable results.

Programme area

The area covered by the INTERREG programme Deutschland – Nederland extends from the Wadden Sea to the Lower Rhine and along a 460-kilometre-long border. Extending the programme area in 2014 will generate even more opportunities for cooperation under the INTERREG umbrella.

The programme area consists of parts of the German federal states of Lower Saxony and North Rhine-Westphalia and parts of the Dutch provinces of Friesland, Groningen, Drenthe, Flevoland, Overijssel, Gelderland, North Brabant and Limburg.

INTERREG has always focused on the border areas, but even areas located somewhat farther from the border can easily participate in projects. In certain instances, partners from outside the programme area may also take part (e.g. if expertise offered by organisations in Amsterdam or Cologne is needed). For more about the programme area, see the map on the landing page.

Financial framework

The European Commission will make approximately 222 million euros available from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) to the INTERREG V A programme Deutschland – Nederland 2014-2020. National ministries, provinces and other regional and local organisations will also be making co-funding available. In total, almost half a billion euros will be available for cross-border projects until 2020.

Given the significance of sustainable economic development in the border area, some 65% of the funding has been earmarked for priority 1, “Improving innovativeness”. A further 35% will be reserved for priority 2, “Social, cultural and territorial cohesion”. Six percent of the total funding was set aside in advance for technical programme management.

Programme partners

  • Ministry for Economy, Industry and Trade of the Federal State of Nordrhein-Westfalen (Germany)
  • Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate (Netherlands)
  • Ministry of Federal and European Affairs and Regional Development (Germany)
  • Province of Groningen (Netherlands)
  • Province of Friesland (Netherlands)
  • Province of Drenthe (Netherlands)
  • Province of Flevoland (Netherlands)
  • Province of Overijssel (Netherlands)
  • Province of Gelderland (Netherlands)
  • Province of North-Brabant (Netherlands)
  • Province of Limburg (Netherlands)
  • Ems Dollart Region
  • Euregion Rhine-Waal
  • euregion rhine-meuse-north

The INTERREG partners share joint responsibility for programme implementation. They will conclude an agreement to that effect laying down their various competences and obligations.